BeanQuest

December 11, 2007

Things That Suck: “rich text” editors in HTML textareas

Filed under: annoyances, whatever, Wordpress — Brian @ 8:45 pm

WordPress has added a “rich text editor” for posts. It’s so rich that it quietly removes linebreaks from posts, without asking. So, every time you go back to fix a typo, you have to reinsert all of your linebreaks, or your post ends up as one big paragraph. It does this even if you use the “code” version, where you’re supposed to be able to type stuff without it getting all smarty-pants on you. Like it was before. I try not to be a snob, but if I can’t have my paragraph breaks where I want them, I will not stay here long. Please fix this, WordPress people!Please?  (I didn’t do that on purpose. The post above was three paragraphs when I wrote it. This is very annoying. I wonder if this will be its own paragraph or not, now. It is in the “rich text” editor.)

Wow. This is awful. 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

