BeanQuest

May 2, 2007

Photography Class

Filed under: photography, recommendation, strobist — Brian @ 6:17 am

I found a blog called Strobist a while back. It’s done by a guy called David, who’s a photographer for the Baltimore Sun. It’s called “Strobist” after “strobes” (which I, in my childlike innocence, once called “flashes”), and he gives great information on how to use off-camera lighting to help you create better pictures.

Now, I don’t know if you know this, but my undergrad degree is in lighting design for the stage, so there’s some crossover. But, it turns out, the crossover is limited to theory, and not practice. Because for stage lighting, you light the entire area with huge lights, throwing continuous, colored beams from a long way off. For photography lighting, you light just the subject, and from very close, and for tiny fractions of a second. And most often with “white” light.

So, his practical advice has been wonderful and very .. uh .. practical. I’m getting pictures of my family that I’d call “portraits” now, and not “snapshots.”

Anyhow – I mention this here because he’s starting up a lighting class next month. It’s free and online, with assignments posted to his blog, and participants’ photographs posted to Flickr for evaluation and comparison.

If you’d like to play along, just go ahead. There’s no signup form and no fee, and both David and his commenters have proven to be awfully friendly and helpful in the time I’ve been reading them.

I plan to follow it, and do as much as I can fit in.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

