BeanQuest

September 3, 2006

Tres, Trois, Three Things

Filed under: Blogroll, pointlessness, whatever — Brian @ 4:44 pm

Gwynne rousts me from my blog slumber with a challenge…

1. Three things that scare me:

  • Sending my kids out into the world.
  • Not sending my kids out into the world.
  • Wasps.

2. Three people who make me laugh:

  • My sister
  • Steve Martin
  • John Cleese

3. Three things I hate the most:

  • The annoying differences between “reality” and “theory.” I refer to this reality, and most any theory. (“We must make the best of the men as they are, since we cannot have them as we wish” – George Washington)
  • Drivers who ignore traffic laws in favor of being “polite.” “Oh, I see you’re turning left across my lane of traffic. I’ll stop to let you go.” “Oh, a school bus stopped on the other side of this 4-lane, 55MPH highway. I’d better stop.” It is most unfortunate that rear-ending such folks would still reflect poorly on my driving record.
  • Focusing on “things I/we hate.”

4. Three things I don’t understand:

  • The dissonance between “Don’t fail” and “Don’t be a perfectionist”
  • Why restaurants allocate equal space among the blue fake sugar, the pink fake sugar, the yellow fake sugar, and the white real sugar, when the real sugar container is always empty, and there’s no way that there are more than four people in America to whom 15 calories – during a restaurant meal – makes the tiniest bit of difference.
  • While we’re at the restaurant… I don’t understand why the ketchup now comes in opaque red bottles, so you can’t tell if it’s empty, full, or somewhere in between. This has to be even more annoying for the waitstaff.

5. Three things I’m doing right now:

  • Drinking coffee
  • Noticing the unpleasant sound from the keyboard of my beloved iBook as I type
  • Answering questions from my 6-year-old son

6. Three things I want to do before I die:

  • Truly live
  • Discover my purpose (i.e. “complete the Bean Quest”)
  • A Triathalon

7. Three things I can do:

  • Juggle three things passably well.
  • Type 100 words per minute, when I’m on a roll.
  • Paint the edge of the wall along the ceiling while standing on the floor.

8. Three ways to describe my personality:

  • Joking
  • Sarcastic
  • Absent-minded

9. Three things I can’t do:

  • Juggle five things.
  • Ride a unicycle.
  • Remember stuff.

10. Three things I think you should listen to:

  • The people who love you
  • Your conscience
  • Your children (if you don’t have one, borrow someone else’s)

11. Three things you should never listen to:

  • Any song where part of the lyrics is to spell something with the words “to the” in between the letters of the word. (parodies of such songs excepted)
  • The local TV news – it’s not as bad as they make it sound
  • Exercise advice from a fat person

12. Three things I’d like to learn:

  • To juggle five things while riding a unicycle.
  • Spanish.
  • Really complex math. The stuff with all the wierd symbols I can’t explain.

13. Three favorite foods:

  • Everything Jennifer makes for me. (er… this is an update…)
  • Burritos
  • Chicago hot dogs
  • Smarties

14. Three beverages I drink regularly:

  • Coffee
  • Water
  • Beer

15. Three shows I watched as a kid:

  • Bugs Bunny / Road Runner show
  • Growing Pains
  • Animaniacs. (A “college kid” is still “kid”, right?)

16. Three people I’m tagging (to do this):

I started this early this morning. It’s 5:40 now. Not that I haven’t gotten up and done other things, but still – this is more work than I want to assign to anyone. How ’boutcha pick 3 of the 3 and leave ’em in the comments?

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks for “playing” (it was a lot of work, wasn’t it? Took me two days)!

    I’m still trying to figure out what “to the” does to a song about spelling. But I’m assuming since you said not to listen to these songs, I’m in good favor and need not know more.

    If you can juggle, I’ve no doubt you can learn to ride a unicycle.

    I like the quote from George Washington…very profound.

    And as for the whole sugar thing, I wonder why we have to have all three colors of artificial sweeteners when rarely can you get a choice of, say, three different mustards or ketchups.

    Comment by Gwynne — September 3, 2006 @ 5:31 pm

  2. Oy – yes, it was much more work than I thought it would be at first. I take these things far too seriously, I know. But it was fun!

    I’m not sure where I was going with the thing about spelling in songs. At some point today, it must have had some meaning…

    Three different mustards? Sign me up!

    Comment by Brian — September 3, 2006 @ 7:59 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

